A Child of the Region

Mathieu Guibert

Driven by his passion and devotion to his region, Mathieu Guibert runs a hotel that very much reflects his character and beliefs.

His Philosophy

Cooking is a State of Mind

To transform each meal into a feast for the senses and a moment of shared pleasure: this is the philosophy of Chef Mathieu Guibert when he imagines and creates the dishes of his menu. To achieve this goal, he relies first of all on the high quality of the local produce rooted in the history of this region where he was born. His experience has also taught him to be rigorous, enabling him to reach the highest level day after day. But for Chef Mathieu Guibert, haute cuisine is also about emotions. It is undoubtedly this additional “soul” which makes his cuisine so unique...

His Philosophy

Cooking is a State of Mind

To transform each meal into a feast for the senses and a moment of shared pleasure: this is the philosophy of Chef Mathieu Guibert when he imagines and creates the dishes of his menu. To achieve this goal, he relies first of all on the high quality of the local produce rooted in the history of this region where he was born. His experience has also taught him to be rigorous, enabling him to reach the highest level day after day. But for Chef Mathieu Guibert, haute cuisine is also about emotions. It is undoubtedly this additional “soul” which makes his cuisine so unique...

Curriculum Vitae

A Prestigious Journey

Mathieu Guibert always dreamt of becoming a Chef. Since a very young age, he has aimed for excellence by training with the very best. After studying at the Lycée Hôtelier Sainte-Anne in Saint-Nazaire he left his region to work in Carcassonne and then in Paris, where he joined the team at Le Meurice. Alongside Yannick Alléno, he was part of the team which led the establishment to its second and third Michelin stars. He then went on to work with Christian Le Squer in the kitchens of the Pavillon Ledoyen. After returning to Carcassonne as sous chef to Franck Putelat, he finally moved to Reims, Domaine des Crayères, where he remained for 5 years as sous chef to Philippe Mille. It is here that he later met Philippe and Michèle Vétélé, the founders of Anne de Bretagne and thanks to them, here he is today back in his homeland.

Curriculum Vitae

A Prestigious Journey

Mathieu Guibert always dreamt of becoming a Chef. Since a very young age, he has aimed for excellence by training with the very best. After studying at the Lycée Hôtelier Sainte-Anne in Saint-Nazaire he left his region to work in Carcassonne and then in Paris, where he joined the team at Le Meurice. Alongside Yannick Alléno, he was part of the team which led the establishment to its second and third Michelin stars. He then went on to work with Christian Le Squer in the kitchens of the Pavillon Ledoyen. After returning to Carcassonne as sous chef to Franck Putelat, he finally moved to Reims, Domaine des Crayères, where he remained for 5 years as sous chef to Philippe Mille. It is here that he later met Philippe and Michèle Vétélé, the founders of Anne de Bretagne and thanks to them, here he is today back in his homeland.

A Return to His Roots

A Love for his Region

Mathieu Guibert is a child of the Pays de Retz. He grew up close to the restaurant Anne de Bretagne, before leaving to gain experience elsewhere. As a young man, he looked longingly at this great white residence with such a renowned reputation. When its founders, Philippe and Michèle Vételé, announced to him that they were planning to pass it on, the idea came to him immediately: his knowledge of the region and local producers was unparalleled and his career so far had given him the experience necessary for such an adventure... It was up to him to take over the reins of the house! Today, he directs the hotel masterfully, all the while making sure to maintain its authenticity.

A Return to His Roots

A Love for his Region

Mathieu Guibert is a child of the Pays de Retz. He grew up close to the restaurant Anne de Bretagne, before leaving to gain experience elsewhere. As a young man, he looked longingly at this great white residence with such a renowned reputation. When its founders, Philippe and Michèle Vételé, announced to him that they were planning to pass it on, the idea came to him immediately: his knowledge of the region and local producers was unparalleled and his career so far had given him the experience necessary for such an adventure... It was up to him to take over the reins of the house! Today, he directs the hotel masterfully, all the while making sure to maintain its authenticity.

Local Products from the Region

The Men and the Land

Chef Mathieu Guibert offers a menu strongly influenced by the local produce and sea air, which remains the main mark of his cooking. He makes it a point of honour to rigorously select the products that make up each of his dishes. As a farmer's son, he knows the producers around him well and his passion for excellent produce has led him to create a menu that uses local resources and varies with the seasons.

Local Products from the Region

The Men and the Land

Chef Mathieu Guibert offers a menu strongly influenced by the local produce and sea air, which remains the main mark of his cooking. He makes it a point of honour to rigorously select the products that make up each of his dishes. As a farmer's son, he knows the producers around him well and his passion for excellent produce has led him to create a menu that uses local resources and varies with the seasons.

L’enfant du pays

Mathieu Guibert

Guidé par la passion, attaché à sa terre, Mathieu Guibert est aux commandes d’une maison qui lui ressemble.

Une philosophie

La cuisine comme un état d’esprit

Faire du repas une fête des sens et un moment de plaisir partagé : telle est la philosophie de Mathieu Guibert lorsqu’il imagine et réalise les plats de sa carte. Pour cela, il s’appuie d’abord sur la qualité des produits, ancrés dans l’histoire de ce terroir où il est né. Son expérience lui a aussi appris la rigueur qui permet jour après jour d’atteindre le plus haut niveau. Mais pour lui, la grande cuisine est aussi affaire d’émotions. C’est sans doute ce petit supplément d’âme qui rend sa table si singulière…

Une philosophie

La cuisine comme un état d’esprit

Faire du repas une fête des sens et un moment de plaisir partagé : telle est la philosophie de Mathieu Guibert lorsqu’il imagine et réalise les plats de sa carte. Pour cela, il s’appuie d’abord sur la qualité des produits, ancrés dans l’histoire de ce terroir où il est né. Son expérience lui a aussi appris la rigueur qui permet jour après jour d’atteindre le plus haut niveau. Mais pour lui, la grande cuisine est aussi affaire d’émotions. C’est sans doute ce petit supplément d’âme qui rend sa table si singulière…

Curriculum vitae

Un parcours prestigieux

Mathieu Guibert a toujours voulu faire de la cuisine son métier. Très jeune, il se donne les moyens de l’excellence, en se formant avec les meilleurs. Après des études au lycée hôtelier Sainte-Anne à Saint-Nazaire, il quitte sa région pour travailler à Carcassonne puis à Paris, où il rejoint l’équipe du Meurice. Aux côtés de Yannick Alléno, il participe à l’épopée qui mènera l’établissement à la seconde, puis à la troisième étoile. Il enchaîne ensuite avec Christian Le Squer dans les cuisines du Pavillon Ledoyen. Après un retour à Carcassonne comme sous-chef de Franck Putelat, il s’installe enfin à Reims, au Domaine des Crayères, où il reste pendant 5 ans le second de Philippe Mille. C’est là qu’il va rencontrer Philippe et Michèle Vétélé, les fondateurs de la maison Anne de Bretagne. Grâce à eux, le voilà aujourd’hui de retour sur ses terres d’origine.

Curriculum vitae

Un parcours prestigieux

Mathieu Guibert a toujours voulu faire de la cuisine son métier. Très jeune, il se donne les moyens de l’excellence, en se formant avec les meilleurs. Après des études au lycée hôtelier Sainte-Anne à Saint-Nazaire, il quitte sa région pour travailler à Carcassonne puis à Paris, où il rejoint l’équipe du Meurice. Aux côtés de Yannick Alléno, il participe à l’épopée qui mènera l’établissement à la seconde, puis à la troisième étoile. Il enchaîne ensuite avec Christian Le Squer dans les cuisines du Pavillon Ledoyen. Après un retour à Carcassonne comme sous-chef de Franck Putelat, il s’installe enfin à Reims, au Domaine des Crayères, où il reste pendant 5 ans le second de Philippe Mille. C’est là qu’il va rencontrer Philippe et Michèle Vétélé, les fondateurs de la maison Anne de Bretagne. Grâce à eux, le voilà aujourd’hui de retour sur ses terres d’origine.

Un retour aux sources

L’amour de ses terres

Mathieu Guibert est un enfant du pays de Retz. Il a grandi à deux pas du restaurant Anne de Bretagne, avant de partir se former ailleurs. Tout jeune, il regardait avec envie cette grande maison blanche à la réputation si flatteuse. Quand ses fondateurs, Philippe et Michèle Vételé, lui annoncent qu’ils envisagent de passer la main, l’idée s’impose à lui comme une évidence : sa connaissance de la région et des producteurs locaux est sans pareille, son parcours lui a donné l’expérience nécessaire à cette aventure… C’est à lui de reprendre les rênes de la maison ! Aujourd’hui, il la dirige de main de maître, tout en veillant à lui laisser toute son authenticité.

Un retour aux sources

L’amour de ses terres

Mathieu Guibert est un enfant du pays de Retz. Il a grandi à deux pas du restaurant Anne de Bretagne, avant de partir se former ailleurs. Tout jeune, il regardait avec envie cette grande maison blanche à la réputation si flatteuse. Quand ses fondateurs, Philippe et Michèle Vételé, lui annoncent qu’ils envisagent de passer la main, l’idée s’impose à lui comme une évidence : sa connaissance de la région et des producteurs locaux est sans pareille, son parcours lui a donné l’expérience nécessaire à cette aventure… C’est à lui de reprendre les rênes de la maison ! Aujourd’hui, il la dirige de main de maître, tout en veillant à lui laisser toute son authenticité.

Les produits du terroir local

Des hommes et des territoires

Le chef propose une carte fortement imprégnée par les produits du terroir et par l’iode, qui reste le marqueur principal de sa cuisine. Il met un point d’honneur à sélectionner rigoureusement les produits qui entrent dans la composition de ses plats. Lui-même fils d’agriculteur, il connaît bien les producteurs qui l’entourent. Cette passion pour les bons produits l’amène à composer une carte qui varie au gré des saisons et se nourrit des ressources locales.

Les produits du terroir local

Des hommes et des territoires

Le chef propose une carte fortement imprégnée par les produits du terroir et par l’iode, qui reste le marqueur principal de sa cuisine. Il met un point d’honneur à sélectionner rigoureusement les produits qui entrent dans la composition de ses plats. Lui-même fils d’agriculteur, il connaît bien les producteurs qui l’entourent. Cette passion pour les bons produits l’amène à composer une carte qui varie au gré des saisons et se nourrit des ressources locales.